top of page
  • Writer's pictureCIAMQG

Get to Know the CIAMQG: Sarah Bennett-George

As our little guild grows into a mature force to be reckoned with we wanted to highlight the talented artists who make our guild great. Throughout 2019 we will be bringing you member information and spotlights so you can put names to faces. Say "Hi!" to Sarah at the next meeting!


Why did you decide to join the CIAMQG?

I was starting to get into quilting, and I wanted the learning and inspiration from discussing quilting with a group.


How long have you been quilting?

About 5 years, I believe.


Describe different quilting styles or techniques you like and why.

I LOVE foundation paper piecing!! It gives the potential for such interesting and intricate shapes, and it makes it so easy to get perfect points. I also have a love of flying geese, even though they can get a little tedious.


Do you have any quilting idols or people you turn to for inspiration?

Some of my favorite quilters are on Instagram and are not necessarily "quilty stars," but rather seemingly average people! It inspires me that normal people can do such amazing things!


What is your favorite style of fabric or favorite fabric collection?

I'm a relatively new quilter, so my favorites change all the time. Right now, I am SO PUMPED for the Libs Elliot Tattooed North collection! I'm already brainstorming what I'm going to make with it this spring.


What are your favorite notions and why?

My Gingher embroidery scissors. They just feel faster than anything else for cutting threads while piecing, and I love how portable they are.


Describe a quilted piece you’re most proud of and why.

I was really proud of the wedding ring quilt I finished early this year. It was the most technically difficult quilt I have sewn yet, and it took a lot of perseverance to finish it.


What’s on your must-make list right now?

I'm still working through my Tula Pink City Sampler. After that, likely Chic Country will be next on the cutting table.


What are some favorite non-quilting things you like?

Cooking, going to movies, snuggling with my dogs!


Any other quilting related adventures you’d like to share?

I went to grad school for clothing design. For years after finishing, I basically didn't sew anything. I was so burnt out. Slowly and for no specific reason I can remember, I found myself kind of stumble into quilting. I realized how much I had missed doing things with my hands and thinking creatively. I don't have nearly the time to sew that I would like and still have lots of skills to improve upon, but I love having that creative outlet again.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page