top of page
  • Writer's pictureCIAMQG

Get to Know the CIAMQG: Jessica Plunkett

As our little guild grows into a mature force to be reckoned with we wanted to highlight the talented artists who make our guild great. Throughout 2019 we will be bringing you member information and spotlights so you can put names to faces. Say "Hi!" to our fearless leader Jessica Plunkett at the next meeting!


Why did you decide to join the CIAMQG?

I moved to Central Iowa and wanted to join a local MQG to meet other quilters.


How long have you been quilting?

5 years


Describe different quilting styles or techniques you like and why.

I'm not sure I've fully found my signature style because I love experimenting! I like designing quilts using simple blocks in new ways. I enjoy working on foundation paper piecing projects.


Do you have any quilting idols or people you turn to for inspiration?

I really love Elizabeth Hartman patterns. They're just so fun, unique and very well thought out/well written patterns.


What is your favorite style of fabric or favorite fabric collection?

Solids will forever be my fabric. I own so many shades of grey solid fabric. I'm a huge fan of Moda Grunge fabrics. I also love any Zen Chic fabric collection.


What are your favorite notions and why?

Bloc loc rulers. Quick curve rulers. Add a quarter ruler. Wonder Clips. Thimble pads. Interestingly, I am not an early adopter of any new notions. But if I decide to invest in a new notion, I've probably researched it and test-driven it somewhere.


Describe a quilted piece you’re most proud of and why.

There are many! While I'm certain you will find many flaws in all of my work, they are all made with a whole lot of heart. Quilts that I made for the birth of my child, the death of my grandmother (from ALS) and my first pattern quilt are a few pieces I'm most proud of.


What’s on your must-make list right now?

I must finish a quilt I started on for my own bed! I need to get it - along with about other 15 UFOs - done!


What are some favorite non-quilting things you like?

Running, cycling, spending time with my family


Any other quilting related adventures you’d like to share?

My quilting journey was 20+ years in the making. My great grandmother made beautiful quilts all by hand. I think she wanted to teach me but I never had an interest. After she passed, I spent some time learning to sew. But it wasn't until about a dozen years after she passed that I took my first quilting class. I think about her each time I make a quilt. Once I learned to quilt, there was no stopping me. I immediately started designing quilts for my family. Then I started designing quilts to become patterns. I was a finalist in Craftsy's Quilt Designer Fellowship program and have had work published with the Modern Quilt Guild. I've also published my first half dozen patterns with more to come



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page