top of page
  • Writer's pictureCIAMQG

Member Spotlight: Eva Marie Evans


Eva Marie Evans

Eva Marie Evans joined the CIAMQG towards the end of 2017. Let's learn a little more about her!

Eva Marie, tell us about your dayjob?

I am a former attorney, now homemaker.

How long have you been quilting?

Approximately 7-8 years now.

What are three words to describe your quilt style or personality?

Minimalist, maximalist, and color.

Who is your favorite quilter or designer?

Carolyn Friedlander

What quilting skills or techniques are your favorites or specialties?

Handwork, improv, and straightline quilting.

What is your longest-running WIP or UFO?

I started cutting the Aviatrix medallion when it first came out, but got stuck on the templates required for the center. It's all still sitting in a box.

How do you balance quilting with the other things in your life?

The cleaning suffers...

If you could quilt anywhere for an afternoon, where would it be?

Overlooking the ocean.

That sounds beautiful, is this a clue as to why you quilt?

I quilt as a form of self therapy and also to express myself.

If you could learn any new quilting skill, what would you want to learn?

I've spent the last two years trying to learn many new skills, so there isn't much I haven't tried, but I would like to improve my curved piecing.

Five Pink Dots by Eva Marie Evans, Runner up in the Spring 2018 Riley Blake Challenge

So these classes are they about any particular topic or style?

I've taken lots of classes, trying to learn new techniques to add depth of technique to my quilts. At the same time, I've been trying to refine what makes my quilts uniquely me. I just won quite a few blue ribbons and 2 special awards for my modern quilts at my traditional guild show, so I think I'm on the right path.

Is there anything that you particularly find most challenging about quilting? Most exciting?

Coming up with something truly original and unique is the most challenging and most exciting.

What is your proudest quilting moment?

I just won the judge's choice at the traditional guild I belong to. It is a very modern, very me quilt, so it was really good validation that I'm on the right path.


Eva Marie, thank you so much for sharing with us! We are so excited to watch you refine your technique and develop your own style that is uniquely you.

Darkest Before the Dawn by Eva Marie Evans, shown at QuiltCon 2018 in Pasadena, California, USA

61 views0 comments
bottom of page